National Post Primary Schools Champs 2018

NPPSC 2018 1

The Big Triathlon Exam in Naas

More than 70 of the country's best teenage triathletes raced for glory at the National Post Primary Schools Championships in Naas, Co. Kildare.

All athletes had earned the right to line up at the final by qualification through regional heats - making competition fierce and racing exciting.

Athletes raced across four categories, with distances varying according to age.

NPPSC 2018 2


In the Senior category, Fabian Mangan and Alex Stewart claimed first place in the male and female races respectively, with Oisin McGuigan and Dani Cunningham in second place on the podium; and Ben Carr and Molly Foley in 3rd.

Ralf Bodamer and Emma Boyle won the Intermediate age grouping ahead of Daragh O'Neil and Carla Griffin (2nd); and Jordan Johnson and Elia Tutty (3rd).

NSPPC 2018 3

In the boys and girls Junior category, Ross McGuinness and Charlotte Moore claimed gold; with silver going to Cillian McGahon and Aoife Durrane. Tom McGrane and Olivia Moore took the bronze medals.

Finally, the Minor category medals went to Flionn McLaughlin and Katie Gannon (1st); Callum O'Neil and Amy Lundy (2nd); and Luke O'Shea and Ally Cunningham (3rd)

NSPCC 2018 4


See all the results from a great day of racing

There's also a full gallery of images from the day by TI Media's James Shelly on his Flickr page and on Triathlon Ireland's facebook page