McCrystal and Duffy win at Lough Neagh Triathlon

Lough Neagh 2018 Swim Start

Over 140 athletes lined out yesterday for Lough Neagh Triathlon in Magherafelt. We are now well in to the second half of the 2018 BMW Triathlon National Series, this makes Lough Neagh Triathlon and Caroline Kearney Memorial Triathlon this weekend the last chance to complete a standard distance event. Athletes must complete four races (with at least one sprint and one standard distance) to qualify for an overall series ranking.

men's race

The 1500m swim was led by James Walton, who completed the first leg in 22.37, 80 seconds ahead of Andrew Bye. There was another gap to a group of three swimmers, Clifford Rodgers, John Woods and Bryan McCrystal, who entered T1 seconds apart.

National long distance triathlon record holder Bryan McCrystal dominated on the bike putting in the only sub-one hour split to make up the deficit from the swim and enter T1 in first with a substantial lead. McCrystal held this lead and put in another quickest split of the day on the run to win the men's race in 1:58:50.

Behind McCrystal, Andrew Bye overtook James Walton making up the 80 seconds lost in the swim and entering T2 over one minute ahead of Walton in third place. Bye held his place out on the run for the silver medal in 2:06:29, James Walton third in 2:08:33.

Lough Neagh 2018 Mens Podium

Final Results
1.Bryan McCrystal01:58:50
2.Andrew Bye02:06:29
3.James Walton02:08:33

Women's Race

In the women's race, Jennifer Duffy opened up a two and half minute lead on the swim and her race built from there. Duffy put in a solid bike and run and was never in danger of being caught, crossing the line in 2:23:38, six and a half minutes ahead of the rest of the field.

The race was on for second and third - Eimer Dowds from Invictus Triathlon Club and Lavana Chamney (Naas TC) both having quick bikes to enter T2 with a small gap between them. Dowds got stuck in on the run, digging deep and producing the second fastest split of the race to open up a lead on Chamney, taking the second spot on the podium.

Lough Neagh 2018 Womens Podium

1.Jennifer Duffy02:23:38
2.Eimer Dowds02:30:07
3.Lavana Chamney02:35:01

For full results visit the Champion Chip Timing website.

Picture galleries by Martin Jancek are up on the Triathlon Ireland Facebook Page.