Dublin City Triathlon - Reports, Pictures, Results

Caron Ryan Niamh Corry DCT 2017 Run

More than 1,000 people - including An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar competed - across four different distances at Dublin City Triathlon.

Three Olympians - Gavin Noble, Bryan Keane and rower Sinead Lynch were also in attendance. Noble - a previous winner of DCT was present as a spectator; Keane in his post retirement career as a sports photographer and Lynch as a competitor (and about to become winner) of the standard / olympic distance event.

Racing began at the country's largest club run triathlon with the draft legal Super Series event at 8am. Sprint distance athletes and relay teams next to hit the water before the standard/olympic distance athletes got their races underway at 10am.

Gavin Noble and Bryan Keane DCT 2017

Super Series: Rogers and SinHA Win 

The men’s race in the fourth round of the 2017 Super Series race was the first off, with 37 men entering the water at 8am.

By the halfway mark of the 750m swim, Galway born Alastair Rogers had carved out more than three seconds on Kerry teenager Cillian Tierney, with the remainder of the men’s field strung out behind.

Men's Super Series Bike Pack DCT 2017

Rogers Goes Solo

Rogers and Tierney emerged from the water together in 8mins 48seconds - approximately 10 seconds ahead of their closest pursuers which included James Walton, Sebastian Helga, James Mintern, Richard Horton and local favourite Tom McEnery.

Rogers attacked hard on the bike and succeeded in breaking clear from Tierney, who dropped back to the 1st chase group. Riding solo, Rogers completed the 20km technical bike route in 29mins 58secs to come in to T1 alone.

Behind him, five riders including former U23 World Duathlon Champion Richard Horton and James Mintern created a gap on the remainder of the field and came in to T2 with everything to race for.

Men's Super Series Podium DCT 2017

Rogers - Horton - Atkins

On the 5km run, Rogers was uncatchable and completed the 5km course in 16mins 47secs to cruise home and take victory with an overall time of 57mins 27secs.

Meanwhile Richard Horton was putting in a superb 15mins 47secs run performance to overtake six athletes and cross the line in second place on 57mins 41secs.

Rory Atkins claimed the bronze medal coming home in 58mins 57secs.

Women Bike Pack DCT 2017

Sinha - Surprise Winner in the Women’s Race

With pre-race favourite Heather Foley not starting, the women’s race was wide open. However few could have predicted the eventual winner Natasha Sinha - accomplished swimmer and first year student at University of Leeds who only took up triathlon in October 2016.

Sinha surprised from the start, as she emerged alone from the water at the front of the race in the lead, covering the 750m in 9mins 36secs.  

Ailbhe Carroll, Niamh Corry and Jemma Speers followed about 20secs later with Elizabeth Carr and Emma Sharkey a further 10secs back.

On the bike Carroll and Speers managed to bridge across to Sinha to form a trio as Corry dropped back to the main chase group of riders.

Women's Super Series Podium DCT 2017

Sinha Wins, Carr Comes from Behind

Sinha, Speers and Carroll worked together on the draft legal bike leg and came in to T2 on the same bike time of 33mins 22secs but it was Sinha who was the quickest in T2 and already by the time she was leaving transition, she had pulled three seconds out on Carroll and Speers. 

Sinha covered the 5km in 20mins 46secs - 13secs quicker than Carroll and crossed the line to take victory in only her second ever draft legal triathlon.

An exhausted Carroll held on for second place but behind her Elizabeth Carr was putting in the run of the day (18mins 32secs) to finish 57secs later and claim third place.

DCT 2017 Swim Pic from Water Level

Sprint, Olympic and Aquabike Results

Later in the morning, the men’s (non-drafting) sprint distance race was won by David Coyle, ahead of Bruce Campbell (2nd) and Brian Tiernan (3rd).

The women’s sprint distance race was won by Emma Porter, with Niamh Curran in 2nd and Karen Phelan 3rd.

DCT 2017 Woman on Bike with Kids

Aquabike National Champs

In the Aquabike event, John Howlett and Siobhan Forman were the winners and are the new Aquabike National Champions.

Philip Castles and Shannon Kelly took home the silver medals while Bjorn Ludick and Dee Needham claimed bronze.

Standard / Olympic Distance 

Finally, the standard / olympic distance event was won by James Hoare and Rio Olympian Sinead Lynch. Conor Tiernan and Shona Keane finished in second place in the men's and women's races respectively while Enda Bagnall and Esther Bayon claimed third.  

Race sponsors Vodafone won the women’s sprint relay event with Team Despacito coming home first in the women’s relay.

Leo Varadkar DCT 2017 Bike

Results, Pictures and Interviews

Full (provisional) results from all the races at Dublin City Triathlon are available on www.sportsplits.com

Two massive galleries of images featuring competitors throughout the day will be posted to Triathlon Ireland's facebook page and stay tuned for video highlights of the day.