2015 Paratriathlon National Championships

2015 Paratriathlon National Championships

Ireland's largest ever Paratriathlon National Championships took place on Sunday with 13 athletes over 4 different categories completing the 750m swim, 20km bike and 5km run.

The event was expertly hosted by Predator Triathlon Club and ran alongside the Vodafone National Series Sprint Triathlon and Youth National Championships making for a fantastic family friendly atmosphere.

Paratriathlon competitors included Aidan McGlynn, currently ranked 28th in the world and just coming back from fractured ribs sustained in his last race. Catherine Walsh with pilot Fran Meehan was also in action. Walsh earned a silver and bronze medal at the London Paralympic Games so it was no surprise to see her talent transfer across to triathlon as she claimed gold in the visually impaired PT5 category.

2015 Paratriathlon National Champions

PT1 - Male - Karol Doherty

PT1 - Female - Fiona Mc Cormack

PT3 - Male - Garrett Turbett

PT4 - Male - Aidan McGlynn

PT5- Male - Nicolas Dewalque/ Pilot Martin Kirwin

PT5- Female - Catherine Walsh / Pilot Fran Meehan

TI Media Images by Gordon Thomson Here and Ken Murphy Here

Full Results Here

Overall PlacePosNameSurnameClubSwimT1CycleT2RunFinish
PT1 Male 
121st karolDoherty 0:34:590:04:180:49:490:22:281:51:34
PT1 female 
131st FionaMcCormack0:15:350:04:361:00:570:34:451:55:53
PT3 Male
113rdMartinO'SheaAthy TC0:21:000:01:480:47:200:01:160:31:181:42:43
PT4 Male 
11stAidanMc Glynn0:11:020:01:110:34:510:00:520:19:221:07:18
22ndbryceirvineHi-Elbow TC0:14:570:01:100:32:270:01:110:20:121:09:57
74thTojoLazzariSwinford TC0:19:420:02:390:36:370:01:220:21:531:22:12
85th MarkPhillips0:15:200:01:490:42:550:00:530:25:501:26:47
PT5 Male 
41stNicolasDewalqueBelpark TC0:17:210:03:310:33:440:01:190:22:331:18:28
PT5 Female 
31stCatherine Walsh0:16:580:01:550:32:490:01:090:23:281:16:19